Xàbia recovers part of its history with the visit, Interactive, from the Refugi del Port (Port Refuge) or also called Refugi del Moll (Dock Refuge), built during the Civil War period. This historical place that housed a torpedo store was built between 1938 and 1939. It is located in the old Caleta del Racó, now defunct and known as Caleta del Port.
At present, there we find a huge concrete slope that hides this historic refuge. Discovered after brushing off this wall.
Despite the objective of the consistory, five years ago, to rehabilitate and make it accessible, finally its poor condition, makes it impossible to open to the public but does not limit knowing its interior up close. And it is that, while it was being built, there was a collapse, in which a worker was injured and died a few days later.
Thanks to the project launched by the Soler Blasco Municipal Archaeological and Ethnographic Museum of Xàbia you can see, in a virtual way, what the refuge is like, in 360º and what its history is.
According to the project, the shelter was intended to be a torpedo depot for torpedo boats. It is 25 meters long and has two manholes, one on each side of the tunnel. Specifically, this unique construction is dug into a hillside next to the port of Xàbia and is made up of galleries that go more than 20 meters underground. Its access door remained sealed and hidden in the undergrowth from the 70s until just five years ago.
When it was reopened and a first inspection was carried out, it was considered that it could be a refuge against the air attacks of the war. However, a more in-depth study discards this hypothesis and opts for the possibility that it was an ammunition depot to supply the torpedo boats and antisubmarines of the Spanish Republic.